top of page
  • Writer's pictureMadigan Wilentz

Week 14: 10/31-11/7

Updated: Jun 7, 2023

As my exchange comes to a close with only three weeks left, I'm beginning to reflect back on my experiences and the ways I've grown over the past three months.

Arriving here in St. Thomas, I had a lot of expectations as to how things were going to go that weren't necessarily accurate - I thought I'd be at the beach every day, that I'd befriend everyone I met and that once I got over my hostility period everything would be smooth sailing.


Many of these expectations were not the reality, and my intentions for this exchange experience have shifted greatly since the beginning. What I thought would be a journey of friendship and leisure experience became more of a journey of self-discovery, leading me to realizations about courses of action I want to take moving forward in my professional development. Through my coursework at UVI, I have found a passion for uncovering and addressing disparities in healthcare and working with marginalized communities, which is something I will continue to pursue moving forward in my academic career.


The most major misconception I had about this experience was the linear nature of the 4 adjustment periods, which I have come to realize is not so linear at all. I found myself wavering back and forth between hostility and acceptance at various points, but it was this uncomfortability that challenged me and pushed me to thresholds that I would not have been able to reach otherwise.


The one goal I placed at the forefront before arriving was to spend time with myself and really reflect on what my purpose is. I found that in the beginning with everything being so new, I got a bit distracted from this goal and was focusing more on enjoying myself and trying everything I could. The hostility phases undoubtedly placed myself in the position to find comfort in my solitude, and now that things are wrapping up, I've definitely been relishing in my own company and doing little things for me, whether it be meditating on the beach or hiking by myself. This week, I did the hike at Brewers Bay Beach Cave, which has been one of the highlights of my trip. I must say, it was one of the tougher hikes I've done in terms of steepness. Lots of rock climbing, but the views were totally worth it.

Given that there is only three weeks left of my exchange and next week is my last official week of classes, I'm going to make sure to really crack down and stay consistent with my blog posts. Stay tuned and wish me luck on finals!

12 views

Recent Posts

See All

STT Top Restaurants

With all the walking and sweating I was doing in St. Thomas, I managed to build up quite the appetite and the cuisine became a fundamental aspect of my experience. Here's a list of some of the standou

bottom of page